I want to take this year by the horns and be deliberate and purposeful in it. To that end, I’ve taken this day to codify what I believe God is saying will be themes of this year for me. Happily, this year will be defined by Scripture, visual art, storytelling, and music, and those elements are all media through which God is speaking to me!

There are two verses that I want to define my 2014:

For you died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. – Colossians 3:3

If you have run with the footmen, and they have wearied you, then how can you contend with horses? And if in the land of peace, in which you trusted, they wearied you, then how will you do in the floodplain of the Jordan? – Jeremiah 12:5 (NKJV)

In similar theme, over the past two days I’ve been working on a little collage about what I feel like God is wanting to do in my life this year.

20140101-204339.jpg

Finally, the Mister and I went to a matinee of The Secret Life of Walter Mitty. I can’t praise this film enough – best experience I’ve had in a theater in a decade (no word of a lie!) And the soundtrack is kickin’, too. I’m taking that entire film as a message from God about what He has planned this year. There is a fire stoked in my heart that cannot be quenched, and this film was a bellows to the oven.

20140101-204736.jpg

