Sweet fiancé has been out of town these past two weeks and will not return until Friday. I’ve done as much wedding planning as I can without him, and for me that means sewing!

First I got to work on blocks for our guest book quilt.

20140407-173525.jpg

I need more white for the rest of the blocks, but thankfully there’s room in the budget for it!

Next I started stitching flowers. I used this tutorial for “dahlias” after tracking down a Pinterest image from (happy surprise!) a fellow Tennessean Rebecca Sower.

20140407-173656.jpg

I really love how these are coming together! They are bright and cheery and jubilant, and they will pop against the wedding whites and greys. I’m happy that they will last, too, without losing their color or shape the way fresh flowers do. And since I’m using scrap fabric, there’s little impact on the environment and virtually no waste! I have a plan for leaves, too, so that’s next up on my list!

I’m so thankful for the opportunity and ability to pour my creative heart into our wedding in “sew” many ways! As much as I dislike fiancé traveling without me, I’ve enjoyed getting a jump start on these things that make my heart sing!

