There are so many sewing projects I want to complete this month for the wedding, but the goal I’m choosing to work on for A Lovely Year of Finishes is a commissioned quilt!

20140504-122817.jpg

My roommate from grad school has a lovely baby daughter with a bare bed. She and I have kept up a bit over the years, and she has been following my quilting adventures. In fact, I started my first quilt when we lived together. She contacted me asking if I’d be willing to make a New Orleans-flavored quilt for her daughter. I sent her a few examples of improv quilts, thinking it would be a fun reprieve from some of the more structured sewing for the wedding.

20140504-185517.jpg

She loves the idea, especially as improv is the foundation of jazz, and New Orleans is nothing without its music. I’m excited to get started! My goal is to have the top finished by the end of the month. I’m aiming for a twin size for this growing girl!

20140504-185727.jpg

Linking up with A Lovely Year of Finishes!

