We’ve reached the home stretch! Decorations are made, favors packaged, thank-you notes written (to date), and vendors confirmed. My two last sewing projects are complete and awaiting their purpose in the next few days!

IMG_1171.PNG

IMG_1172.PNG

IMG_1173.PNG

I used a comb my mother passed to me years ago – not particularly sentimental but sweetly vintage and perfect for this purpose. Initially I edged the tulle in a shimmery bead trim, but the effect was off-putting. Scrounging for what I had on hand, I found a spool of thin, baby blue satin ribbon, and thankfully I had enough for the entire veil! After machine stitching the ribbon and trimming the excess seam allowance, I loosely gathered the tulle and hand-sewed it to the comb. In person, the color is subtle, but it’s the ideal “something blue” I was lacking anyway!

IMG_1175.PNG

IMG_1174.PNG

IMG_1181.PNG

Speaking of color, I had a last-minute inspiration to make a flock of bright birdies! I started with the Spool Bird pattern as inspiration and freehanded a miniature version. These will be part of gift bags my mother and I are assembling for wedding guests staying at the lodge. The remainder will find homes among table decor and fabric flowers and eventually back to me (yay!) – they turned out so sweet that I just want to keep them!

Four more days til I change my last name! So excited – can hardly wait!

