My friend Lois and I could not wait to get started on some British baking! She decided to make shortbread, called “Petticoat Tails” in the Be-Ro book, to take to her life group meeting. They were eaten so quickly she forgot photos! But she gave me feedback on mine. Following are my notes and recipe translation. I used my Taylor food scale, measured all ingredients as listed in metric, then carefully scooped into American measuring cups and spoons to come up with the quantities listed.

Petticoat Tails (Shortbread)
9 September 2014, p. 19 in Be-Ro Home Baked Recipes, 41st Edition
Listening to: The Fellowship of the Ring Extended DVD, design team commentary

Equipment

rolling pin
lightly floured board
cookie sheet
parchment paper
mixing bowl
cooling rack
wooden spoon
rubber spatula
table knife and fork

Ingredients
Generic / store brand

12 Tbs. unsalted butter, softened or cool
2 1/4 c. + 1 tsp. all-purpose flour
1/3 c. + 2 Tbs. granulated sugar

Preheat oven to 325°F. Plop butter into flour and rub with fingers until well-combined. Stir in sugar until smooth. Divide in two, then roll on board. Transfer to parchment-lined cookie sheet, score with table knife and prick with fork. Bake for about 20-27 minutes.

Notes on baking
Initially I began transferring them to the cooling rack at 21 minutes, but they were too soft and split apart! So I separated the pieces where I’d scored them and baked them an additional 6 minutes. This seemed to work fine!

Reviews

Baker (me!): 8 out of 10 – “Simple, straightforward, tasty, and great with a hot drink.”
Husband: 7 out of 10 – “Do we have any jam?”
Taster: 10 out of 10 – “They’re cookies! All cookies are 10 out of 10!”

IMG_1215.PNG

IMG_1216.PNG

IMG_1218.PNG

IMG_1219.PNG

I sent photos to Lois. She replied,

They look good to me. Good size, pale in colour, but mine came out that colour too as they were fine so nothing to worry about there. Hope they tasted good. Mine all went last night before I even realised. I forgot to take photos tho! But they look yummy! Well done!

Husband thought a dollop of jam would improve their flavor. His jam of choice? Habanero chili made by our fantastic wedding caterer, Lucy Rizzo. (We think she ought to make it regularly and sell it at the Farmers Market.)

IMG_1220.PNG
To which Lois replied,

Heheh they’re meant to be sweet biscuits, but they are quite neutral in taste so if [husband] puts on chilli jam we’ll call that a [husband] quirk!

Are you a fan of shortbread? How do you like yours? Leave me a comment and let me know!

Happy baking!

