That title is a bit misleading: I did not sew for anyone else’s wedding. But Husband’s brother recently married, and as his patient bride permitted him to enter on the Zelda theme song, I had to make something fantastic. We stayed with Husband’s sister so we could spend time with nieces and nephew! Being me, I had to bring gifts. We gave Nephew all the packets of Legos left from our wedding, but the girls needed something sewn!

IMG_1234.PNG

IMG_1235.PNG

IMG_1236.PNG

A few days after our wedding, Niece #2 was born! I made a pair of quilted newborn bibs for her.

IMG_1231.PNG

IMG_1233.PNG

IMG_1232.PNG

Niece #1 is almost 3 years old and loves her play kitchen. I thought she might enjoy a cheery play apron! The closures are Velcro, an idea I got from this tutorial. The rest of the pattern I came up with myself. She was too shy to try it on, but next time her mother bakes, I bet she will!

Now for that wedding gift.

IMG_1257.PNG

IMG_1256.PNG

IMG_1255.PNG

IMG_1258.PNG

Oh, the research I did for this one! I made the apron from denim, tracing one I had on hand. Then I sketched each piece off images from the Nintendo game, ironed interfacing to my solid cotton, and cut out each piece. Finally, I satin stitched each piece down, doing my best to maintain those shapes. Husband suggested I make more for sale, but I am not sure the labor is worth it – except this once! For those (like myself) unfamiliar with Zelda, the design is the shield belonging to Link, the main character. The Sierpinski triangle in the middle, called the Triforce, is Zelda’s most memorable icon. I was tempted to stop there, but since this is Husband’s brother, I wanted to go over the top. He was thrilled to receive it and looked heroic trying it on. Hoping he will make his new bride very happy with romantic home-cooked dinners!

Our visit was short, but we made so many memories! I am so happy to be an aunt and to have more sisters- and brothers-in-love!

Edited to add: sure enough, I received photo proof that my niece likes her apron! Her mother sent me a snap just as I finished writing it up!

IMG_1676.PNG

