This is why I don’t throw away tiny scraps.

   

 

While in England, I hand-pieced half-square triangles trimmed from corners of bee blocks into a free-form unit, then later added swaths of favorite fabrics. The piece was up on my design wall until inspiration struck. I folded the piece in half, then drew a rough outline of a kitten on a scrap of junk mail lying around. After cutting out the kitten, I decided to line it with batting, so I dove into my scraps there, too. A few quick stitches later, he was ready to stuff stiff and ladder stitch finished. He came together so quickly that I expect to make more! But maybe I will omit all the hand-stitching.

I got teary when he was done. I could easily imagine, really for the first time, tiny fingers grasping the tail, or tiny gums chomping on the ears. And he coordinates with the two baby quilts, so he will be right at home in the nursery, like a first friend. Hard to believe it’s all really happening, but little by little (or should I say kick by kick?) it’s sinking in:  in a few short months, I get to meet my first baby!

