Finally!

   
    
 

Looking back, it seems I finished these blocks a year before completing the quilt. They were the last big non-wedding project I worked on. Now, as my husband and I approach our one-year anniversary and the any-day-now birth of our son, we have this quilt to celebrate the best bits of how life has changed for us.

Setting the blocks, piecing the back, and bringing it to my fabulous long-arming friend Maria were part of my goals for the first quarter of the year. In the “make it your own” spirit of the book, I added ten extra blocks, pieced from favorite scraps with improvised design. (Several are visible towards the bottom of the last photo.) This made the quilt a proper size and shape for our bed and, if I can stretch it, reinforced the analogy of “quilt-as-life” – making space for the unplanned beauties that can emerge when committing fully and letting go of control.

Over the course of a few nondescript days (spent watching seasons of Project Runway Australia on YouTube), I finished binding the quilt. Rather than straight-cut double-fold binding, I used what was left of the scrappy bias binding I created for my Generations II quilt, the one combining a top by my great-grandmother with a back from my mother and hand-tied with crochet thread from my grandmother. It seemed appropriate to nod to heritage as we step into this new phase of life.

My patience husband served as my quilt holder in the bright morning light. I didn’t belabor the process for the sake of his arms, so the blocks might not be clearly visible. But you can see the delightful texture of Maria’s quilting! I love how it unifies each unique block into a complete whole. Kind of like the experiences of these past few years – every little bit of effort coming together for a beautiful end result!

Linking up with the 2015 Finish-A-Long!

