I’m a bit behind on my blogging as this was finished on St. Patrick’s Day!   

    
   
I had such fun with #QuiltNon2016 that I went ahead and finished my piece with my sampler blocks (thanks again, Julie!)! At first I was planning on stitching in the ditch, but that quickly became too cumbersome. So I decided to pull out the darning foot and try something I hadn’t attempted in years – good ol’ free motion! It took me awhile to get the hang of it, but the piece was just perfect – not too wide, and I could roll and unroll to a new section as I wiggled and waggled through a meander. I finished the red block last, and I’m happy to see improvement as I progressed. I even had a #QuiltNon2016-inspired backing – my “what was I thinking” fabric!

I love little projects that finish quickly! It’s a nice reward in the midst of bigger endeavors. Right now this rainbow is hanging among other minis, but I could easily see it as a table runner one day when we have a table big enough!

